MobileClient | Version 4

Document Actions: Publishing, Preview And More

Learn how to save, publish, de-publish, reset, preview, offer and clone documents in Sophora's MobileClient.

Saving A Document

To save a document that you are working on:

  • Click on the save symbol in the document's action bar or use the shortcut [CTRL+S].

Automatic Validation

The Sophora MobileClient validates the document taking into account the overall node type configuration and all published validation scripts. This is done by a background task automatically. If the document is not passing validation, proper validation messages will be shown in a small section of the top of the tab. These validation messages are shown on the Document tab as well as on the components tab.

Publishing A Document

To publish a document that is working or ready:

  1. Open a document.
  2. Click on the ON symbol in the document's action bar.

Publishing Of Referenced Documents

If unpublished content (i.e. documents or nodes) is attached to the current document, pushing the Publish button will cause the Publish attached components dialog to appear.

The dialog displays the unpublished content's hierarchy as a collapsible tree. The indentation level represents the shortest path through which the content is connected to the current document, therefore content with multiple connections is only displayed once.

Content without publish permission is marked as such and can not be selected. All other content is selected automatically and can be manually deselected via checkbox, in which case content on a deeper connection level is automatically deselected as well.

De-publishing A Document

To de-publish a document that is live:

  1. Open a document.
  2. Click on the OFF symbol in the document's action bar.

Resetting A Document

To reset a document that you are working on to the last version saved in the server:

  • Click on the reset symbol in the document's action bar.

Previewing A Document

The preview shows all changes made by you (or others). There can be more then one preview based on your Sophora configuration. The changes will only be visible in the live website or oher channels when the document is published (again).

To open a preview:

  1. Open a document.
  2. Click on the globe symbol in the doument's action bar. If multiple previews are available, select one of them in the menu next to the globe symbol. The preview opens in a separate browser tab.

Offering Or Pitching A Document

Offers are used in editorial workflows. Offers are organized in sections. Sections are similar to folders. You can put a document into the appropriate section. Your document can then be found by all editors who have access to the specified task section. The other editors can then integrate your offered document into their pages as a component.

Proposing A Document

To propose a document:

  1. Open a document.
  2. Click on the inbox symbol in the document's action bar. A window with the possible sections opens.
  3. Select the appropriate section.
  4. Click OK.

Cloning A Document

A clone is a copy of a document including all components. Clone a document when you do not want to start work on your new document from zero.

Cloning A Document

To clone a document:

  1. Open a document.
  2. Click on the clone symbol in the document's action bar.
  3. The cloned document opens in a separate browser tab. The clone has the same Sophora ID with an incremented number at the end.

Deleting A Document

To delete a document:

  1. Open a document.
  2. Click on the delete symbol in the document's action bar.
  3. If the document is still referenced by other documents then a dialog will pop up and ask you to first remove these references. You can still delete the document if you really want to, but this requires the global permission to delete reverenced documents

This will always just perform a simple deletion. The Mobile Client does not support the so called "permanent deletion" as the DeskClient does.

Restoring A Document

Restoring a document is an action that only can be performed on deleted documents. Since you won't find deleted documents in the Mobile Clients search results this action is primarily intended to roll back accidential deletions.

To restore a deleted document, click on the restore symbol in the document's action bar.

Last modified on 7/22/20

The content of this page is licensed under the CC BY 4.0 License. Code samples are licensed under the MIT License.

Icon